Skip to Main Content
Where to Find Open Textbooks
ASCC OERI Grant Funding Round 1
Small but relevant collection that's easy to scan.
ASCC OERI Grant Funding Round 2
Some titles still in process but many materials now available.
Bloomsbury is a well-respected and long time UK publisher who has released some of their academic titles for open access/open education.
Boundless - Lumen Learning Courses
This catalog contains educational content originally curated by Boundless. In collaboration with the Boundless team, Lumen Learning imported these OER courses to the Lumen Platform, to ensure they remain freely available to the education community after Boundless ceased operations. Except where otherwise noted, all material in Boundless courses are licensed under a CC BY-SA license.
College of the Canyons ZTC Textbooks
Small but highly relevant collection of textbooks for California Community Colleges. All pdfs are also available as editable Word documents.
Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)
The primary aim of DOAB is to increase discoverability of Open Access books.
Free Publications - U.S. Bureau of International Information Programs
Free-to-use publications, including books and pamphlets from the U.S. Department of State. Categories include About America, Democracy, Education, English Learning, Entrepreneurship, Environment, Health, Human Rights, Science & Technology, and Women & Girls.
Galileo Open Textbooks
List of all open textbooks available through the Affordable Learning Georgia initiative
Online Books Page - Univ. of Pennsylvania Libraries
A website that facilitates access to books that are freely readable over the Internet. Many are in the public domain. Searchable listings, or browse by author, titles, or subject.
View and share free educational material in small modules that can be organized as courses, books, reports or other academic assignments.
Find the full text of classics and public domain works from the first massive ebook creating organization in existence. Nothing fancy here, just files with the full text.
SUNY OER Courses
Online OER courses created by State University of New York (SUNY) in the subjects of Arts, Business, English/Communication, Mathematics, Natural Science, Social Science, Technology, and Transitional Studies.
Textbooks for Tertiary Institutions, Open Textbooks for Hong Kong
Annotated list and links for college-level open textbooks. Categories include Arts and Humanities, Business, Science and Engineering, Information Technology, Social Science, and Education
University of Hawaii OER
Collections of OER across the curriculum, including Arts and Humanities, Business, Food Science and Nutrition, Education, Languages and Literature, Medicine/Health, Natural Sciences, and Social Sciences.
A project of the Wikimedia Foundation, this collection of group written textbooks in a variety of sources follows rules similar to Wikipedia.
Where to Find Open Journals
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
Quality-controlled scientific and scholarly open-access journals, covering a wide range of subjects and many languages. The aim of the DOAJ is to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access scientific and scholarly journals.
Elsevier Open Access Journals
All articles in open access journals which are published by Elsevier have undergone peer review and upon acceptance are immediately and permanently free for everyone to read and download. Elsevier Open Access Journals also available in ScienceDirect.
Internet Archive Scholar
"This fulltext search index includes over 25 million research articles and other scholarly documents preserved in the Internet Archive. The collection spans from digitized copies of eighteenth century journals through the latest Open Access conference proceedings and pre-prints crawled from the World Wide Web."
International through its Open Access Initiative is committed to make genuine and reliable contributions to the scientific community. OMICS Group hosts over 300 leading-edge peer reviewed Open Access Journals and organizes over 100 International Conferences annually all over the world.
OneSearch - Mendocino College LIbrary
Search for English language open access materials.
Science Direct Open Access Journals
Almost 600 open access titles are available in this leading scientific database. The TCC Library also has a subscription to this database, which provides access to more scientific journal titles that are not openly accessible.
Ukiah Campus: 707.468.3053 | Coast Center: 707.961.2200 | Lake Center: 707.263.4944 | North County Center: 707.459.6224
Email: Library Webmaster | Mendocino Community College
Powered by Springshare. Login to LibApps