Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

APA 7th Edition Citation Guide

Citing using the American Psychological Association's Style Guide

Journal Articles

Refer to the Multiple Authors guidelines, if needed.

Online Article with DOI

Template

Author, A. A., Author B. B., & Author, C. C. (Year). Title of article. Title of Journal, Volume(Issue), pages–pages. https://doi.org/XXXXXXXXXXX

Example 1:

Reed, M. J., Kennett, D. J., Lewis, T., Lund-Lucas, E., Stallberg, C., & Newbold, I. L. (2009). The relative effects of university success courses and individualized interventions for students with learning disabilities. Higher Education Research & Development, 28(4), 385–400. https://doi.org/10.1080/07294360903067013

(Reed et al., 2009)

Example 2: Article with an Article Number

Omit the page numbers and use the article number in its place.

Derry, K. (2018). Myth and monstrosity: Teaching indigenous films. Journal of Religion & Film, 22(3), Article 7. https://digitalcommons.unomaha.edu/jrf/

(Derry, 2018)


Online Article Without DOI/Print Article

Template

Author, A. A., Author B. B., & Author, C. C. (Year). Title of article. Title of Journal, Volume(Issue), pages–pages.

Only include a URL if it takes you to the full text of the article without logging in.

Example

Husain, A. N., Colby, T. V., Ordóñez, N. G., Krausz, T., Borczuk, A., Cagle, P. T, Chirieac, L. R., Churg, A., Galeateau-Salle, F., Gibbs, A. R., Gown, A. M., Hammar, S. P., Lizky, A. A., Roggli, V. L., Travis, W. D., & Wick, M. R. (2009). Guidelines for pathologic diagnosis of malignant mesothelioma. Archives of Pathology & Laboratory Medicine, 133(8), 1317–1331.

(Husain et al., 2009)

Note: Do not include the name of a database, except for very rare occasions where the content is exclusive to the database. See Other Database Content for more guidance.

Sources: Publication Manual, 10.1 (examples 1-6); Journal Article References [APA Style]

Newspaper Articles

Print & Database Articles

Template

Author, A. A. (Year, Month Day). Title of article. Newspaper Title, pages–pages.

Example

Clark, A. (2009, August 9). Apartment glut good for students, bad for owners. The Gainesville Sun, 1A, 9A.

(Clark, 2009)


Online Articles from Website

Template

Author, A. A. (Year, Month Day). Title of article. Title of Newspaper. http://xxxxx

Examples

Associated Press. (2019, October 7). Unions sue USDA seeking to halt new pork processing rule. The New York Times. https://www.nytimes.com/aponline/2019/10/07/us/ap-us-pork-slaughter-changes.html

(Associated Press, 2019)

Johnson, K. (2017, January 16). Rwanda takes vital baby steps for preschool education. East African. https://www.theeastafrican.co.ke/Rwanda/News/Rwanda-takes-vital-baby-steps-for-pre-school-education/1433218-3519704-bi37kl/index.html

(Johnson, 2017)

Source: Publication Manual, 10.1 (example 16); Newspaper Article References [APA Style]

Magazine Articles

Print

Template

Author, A. A., Author, B. B., & Author, C. C. (Year, Month Day). Title of article. Title of Magazine, Volume(Issue, if available), pages–pages.

Example

Erim, K. T. (1967, August). Ancient Aphrodisias and its marble treasures. National Geographic, 132(2), 280–294.

(Erim, 1967)


Online

If you are unable to find the volume/issue, omit that component.

Template

Author, A. A. (Year, Month Day). Title of article. Title of Magazine, Volume(Issue). http://xxxxx

Examples

Tizon, A. (2017, June). My family's slave. The Atlantic, 319(5). https://www.theatlantic.com/magazine/archive/2017/06/lolas-story/524490/

(Tizon, 2017)

The supermarket of the future. (2017, May 23). Consumer Reports. https://www.consumerreports.org/grocery-stores-supermarkets/supermarket-of-the-future/

("The Supermarket," 2017)

Source: Publication Manual, 10.1 (example 15); Magazine Article References [APA Style]

Reviews (Book, Film, or Video)

Book Review

Template

Reviewer, A. A. (Year). Title of review [Review of the book Title of book, by B. B. Author]. Source information.

Example

King, N. (2009). The psychology of personal constructs [Review of the book George Kelly: The psychology of personal constructs, by T. Butt]. History & Philosophy of Psychology, 11(1), 44–47. http://www.bps.org.uk/publications/member-network-publications/member-publications/history-and-philosophy-psychology

(King, 2009)


Film or Video Review

Template

Reviewer, A. A. (Year). Title of review [Review of the film Film, by A. A. Director, Dir.]. Source information.

Example

Schickel, R. (2006). The power of Babel [Review of the film Babel, by A. G. Iñárritu, Dir.]. Time, 168(18), 70.

(Schickel, 2006)

Source: Publication Manual, 10.7 (examples 67-68)

Documents from ERIC

The ERIC database sometimes includes non-periodical results, including manuscripts, policy briefs, and other documents. This template provides guidance for creating references for those documents.

Template

Author, A. A. (Year). Title of work (ERIC Document Number). ERIC. http://xxxxx

Example

Asio, J. M. R., & Gadia, E. D. (2019). Awareness and understanding of college students towards teacher bullying: Basis for policy inclusion in the student handbook (ED595107). ERIC. https://eric.ed.gov/?id=ED595107

(Asio & Gadia, 2019)

Source: Publication Manual, 10.8 (example 74); ERIC Database References [APA Style]

Other Database Content

Some information from library databases is not from periodical articles. Examples include information from CountryWatch. Otherwise, use the guidelines for journal or newspaper articles.

Template

Author, A. A. (Year). Title of article. Database Name. https://doi.org/XXXXXXXXXXX OR http://xxxxx

Reference List Example

Youngblood, D. C. (2021.). Afghanistan: Political intelligence briefing. CountryWatch. Retrieved October 6, 2021 from http://www.countrywatch.com/free/intelligencebriefing.

In-Text Citation Example

(Youngblood, 2021)

Sources: Publication Manual, 10.1 (examples 13-14); APA Style: Database Information in References

 

Advance Online Publication

For online journal articles that are published online before they are available in print.

Example

Capone, L. J., Albert, N. M., Bena, J. F., & Tang, A. S. (2012). Serious fall injuries in hospitalized patients with and without cancer. Journal of Nursing Care Quality. Advance online publication. https://doi.org/10.1097/NCQ.0b013e3182679056

(Capone at al., 2012)

Source: Publication Manual, 10.1 (example 7)

Ukiah Campus: 707.468.3053 | Coast Center: 707.961.2200 | Lake Center: 707.263.4944 | North County Center: 707.459.6224
Email: Library Webmaster | Mendocino Community College

Powered by Springshare. Login to LibApps