Finding Articles - Getting Started - An Introduction to Library Resources

Select Library Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Mendocino College's most popular database. Full-text articles covering a wide range of topics. This is a great place to start!
College ID and Password Required
Access World News This link opens in a new window
NewsBank provides a comprehensive collection of reliable news sources covering a wide array of topics and issues. Database includes Access World News, Black Life in America, Hispanic Life in America and Ukiah Daily Journal.
College ID and Password Required
AHFS Consumer Medication Information This link opens in a new window
AHFS Consumer Medication Information is a trusted source and recognized standard for patient drug information.
College ID and Password Required
America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Research database covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
College ID and Password Required
APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
APA PsycArticles connects you to current full-text journal articles written by esteemed researchers from across psychology and the behavioral and social sciences.
Atlantic Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Atlantic Magazine Archive, 1857-2014, is a complete archive which includes more than 1,800 issues from one of the oldest and most-respected magazines in the United States. It provides a broad view of 19th, 20th and early 21st-Century American thought, and offers extensive coverage and analysis in the fields of politics, foreign affairs, business and the economy, culture and the arts, technology, science and more.
Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
Looking for background information? Instead of just using Google, try a search here. Encyclopedia Britannica provides journal articles, magazine articles, biographical portraits, primary sources, as well as news items from national and international newspapers.
College ID and Password Required
Britannica Escolar This link opens in a new window
Spanish language version of the Encyclopedia Britannica: vetted, quality research.
College ID and Password Required
Business Source Elite This link opens in a new window
This database provides full-text coverage of top business, management and economics journals and periodicals. These valuable publications cover topics such as accounting, banking, finance, This database provides full-text coverage of top business, management and economics journals and periodicals. Topics covered include accounting, banking, finance,international business, marketing, sales and more.
College ID and Password Required
CINAHL Plus With Full Text This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive research database provides full text for nursing and allied health journals indexed in CINAHL Plus. Additional materials include full-text evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons and continuing education modules.
College ID and Password Required
CollegeSource This link opens in a new window
***Free Access BUT you must create a student login***
Database of digital college catalogs, institution profiles, transcript keys, and other critical resources.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Original, in-depth reporting and analysis on current issues in the news covering topics ranging from the environment, the economy, health, social trends, technology, criminal justice, international affairs and more.
College ID and Password Required
Drama Online This link opens in a new window
Drama Online is an award-winning digital library that has been created as a response to the need for a high-quality online research tool for drama and literature students, professors, and teachers. It combines exclusively available playtext content and scholarly publications with filmed live performances, film adaptations and audio plays.
College ID and Password Required
eBook Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
Large selection of multidisciplinary e-books representing a broad range of academic subjects, including titles from leading university presses such as Oxford University Press, MIT Press, State University of New York Press, Cambridge University Press, University of California Press, McGill-Queen's University Press, Harvard University Press and many others.
College ID and Password Required
eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
The collection covers key subject areas including humanities, social sciences, business, science, technology and literary criticism.
College ID and Password Required
eBook Subscription Diversity & Ethnic Studies This link opens in a new window
This collection includes nearly 5,000 e-books on the topic of diversity, equity and inclusion. Subjects include Asian Studies, Gender Studies, Hispanic & Latin American Studies, Native American Studies, African American Studies, Islamic Studies, Jewish Studies, and Disability Studies.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Education Resources Information Center is an authoritative database of indexed and full-text education literature and resources.
College ID and Password Required
Ethnic Diversity Source This link opens in a new window
"This full-text database is a dedicated resource covering the culture, traditions, social treatment and lived experiences of different ethnic groups in America. It provides full text from a growing list of sources including peer-reviewed journals, magazines, e-books, biographies and primary source documents." From EBSCO
College ID and Password Required
Films on Demand Nursing Collection This link opens in a new window
"This collection is designed not only to help nursing students excel in their studies and pass licensure exams, but also to prepare them for long-term job success in an increasingly complex health care system." From Infobase (vendor)
College ID and Password Required
GreenFile This link opens in a new window
"GreenFILE is a free research database covering the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and governments and what can be done at each level to minimize negative impacts. It provides thousands of open access full-text records from scholarly, government and general interest sources." From EBSCO database description.
College ID and Password Required
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Full-text collection covering nursing and allied health topics, including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law and more.
College ID and Password Required
Health Source – Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
Collection of consumer health information provides access to full-text consumer health magazines and reference books
College ID and Password Required
MasterFILE Complete This link opens in a new window
Database provides full-text magazines, reference books and primary source documents. It also includes an extensive image collection containing photos, maps and flags.
College ID and Password Required
MAS Ultra – School Edition This link opens in a new window
Designed for high school students, this full-text database of popular magazines, reference books and primary sources covers many subjects, including history, science and health.
College ID and Password Required
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE provides full-text access to information in medicine, veterinary medicine, dentistry, nursing, pre-clinical sciences, and more.
College ID and Password Required
Military and Government Collection This link opens in a new window
From EBSCO, this database features "full-text journals and periodicals pertaining to all branches of the military and government."
College ID and Password Required
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
This collection includes millions of articles from newspapers, newswires and news magazines. In addition, it offers television and radio transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources.
College ID and Password Required
Newswire This link opens in a new window
A full-text database that contains harvested news from the Associated Press newswires.
College ID and Password Required
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
An essential tool for psychologists, counselors, researchers and students, providing extensive coverage for a broad range of subjects in the fields of psychology, behavioral sciences and related disciplines.
College ID and Password Required
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
This collection provides full-text regional business publications for the United States and Canadian provinces. Users can search newspapers, magazines and other resources from trusted news sources.
College ID and Password Required
SIRS Issues Researcher This link opens in a new window
SIRS provides relevant, credible information on social issues, science, history, government, and the arts and humanities. Good choice when looking for multiple perspectives on a current issue.
College ID and Password Required

Off-Campus Access

OFF-CAMPUS USERS

Please use your College Username and Password to access the library databases.

For login assistance please contact the IT Help Desk at it-help@mendocino.edu or by calling 707.468.3000 x4100.

Database Tutorials

What Are Library Databases?

Courtesy of Yavapai College Library

Why Use Library Databases?

The library’s research databases are free and contain a much higher percentage of authoritative and credible journals, books, and articles than relying on internet resources alone.

Utilizing the library’s databases saves the researcher time by allowing students to search and filter exclusively for the types of materials they need including scholarly, peer-reviewed sources.

All sources found through the library databases can be easily cited using the preformatted citations provided in each item’s listing.

Problems accessing library databases?

Please call 707.468.3245

How Do I Know Which Database to Search?

Searching the library’s catalog by using OneSearch (The search bar is embedded right in the middle of the homepage. It can also be found on the right-hand side of the library’s homepage under “OneSearch | Catalog” in the resources list).

OneSearch allows you to find books, articles, videos, images, periodicals and more in a single search.

The OneSearch platform (also known as Primo) is being used at nearly all of the California Community Colleges, all of the California State Universities, and most UCs.

If you have any questions or issues with OneSearch please let us know!

OneSearch - Advanced Search

Getting Started - An Introduction to Library Resources: Finding Articles