Skip to Main Content
American Presidency Project
The American Presidency Project (APP), non-profit and non-partisan, is the leading source of presidential documents on the internet. Our archives contain 129,483 documents and are growing rapidly.
The APP, hosted at the University of California, Santa Barbara, has been a collaboration between John T. Woolley (UCSB) and Gerhard Peters (Citrus College) since 1999.
Catalog of Federal Repository Libraries
Established by Congress to ensure that the American public has access to its Government's information, this program involves the acquisition, format conversion, and distribution of depository materials and the coordination of Federal depository libraries in the 50 states, the District of Columbia and U.S. territories.
Bill searches, legislative activities, members of Congress. House & Senate links
The daily journal of the US Government. The Office of the Federal Register (OFR) of the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA), and the U.S. Government Publishing Office (GPO) jointly administer the FederalRegister.gov website. We developed this website to make it easier for citizens and communities to understand the regulatory process and to participate in Government decision-making.
Government Printing Office
The GPO is the official, digital, and secure source for producing, protecting, preserving, and distributing the official publications and information products of the Federal Government.
Library of Congress: Government Web Resources
This page is maintained by the Serial and GovernmentPublications Division, Library of Congress and is, of course, perpetually under construction. See also Congress.gov for searchable full-text of bills, the Congressional Record, and more.
Advanced search gives you the option of using a form optimized for legislation, including keywords, legislation types, policy areas, status, sponsors, co-sponsors, at more.
United States Commission on Civil Rights
The official views of the United States Commission on Civil Rights are primarily found in its reports and publications, which may be viewed on the Commission’s website or other public collections. The Commission’s website also lists statements, letters, press releases, and other correspondence, which are official views of the Commission. Any other statements, letters, press releases, or correspondence not listed on this website should not be considered as an official viewpoint of the Commission.
USA.gov is an interagency product administered by USAGov (formerly the Federal Citizen Information Center), a division of the U.S. General Services Administration's Technology Transformation Service. It got its start when Internet entrepreneur Eric Brewer, whose early research was funded by the Department of Defense, offered to donate a powerful search engine to government. That gift helped accelerate the government's earlier work to create a government-wide portal.
US Constitution Annotated
The Constitution of the United States of America: Analysis and Interpretation (popularly known as the Constitution Annotated) contains legal analysis and interpretation of the United States Constitution, based primarily on Supreme Court case law. This regularly updated resource is especially useful when researching the constitutional implications of a specific issue or topic. The Featured Topics and Cases page highlights recent U.S. Supreme Court decisions that demonstrate pivotal interpretations of the Constitution's provisions.
Read Press Briefings, Statements, current initiatives, and facts about the White House itself.
United States Census Bureau/Explore Census Data
Data about places, people, economics, and trends over time.
Bureau of Labor Statistics
The Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) of the U.S. Department of Labor is the principal federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy. Its mission is to collect, analyze, and disseminate essential economic information to support public and private decision making. As an independent statistical agency, BLS serves its diverse user communities by providing products and services that are accurate, objective, relevant, timely, and accessible.
Data and Statistics about the United States
Find data about the U.S., such as maps and population, demographic, and economic data.
Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR
An international consortium of more than 750 academic institutions and research organizations, Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) provides leadership and training in data access, curation, and methods of analysis for the social science research community.
ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 250,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. It hosts 21 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields
Michigan State University Statistics Library Guide
Helpful guide on finding statistics and data and learning the difference between the two.
The goal of StatsAmerica is to provide actionable data for economic developers to use in site requests, developing metrics, grant writing and strategic planning.
StatsAmerica is a service of the Indiana Business Research Center (IBRC) at Indiana University's Kelley School of Business, which is ranked among the nation's top business schools.
Statistics from the U.S. Department of Commerce on people, places, and the economy.
US Census Bureau: Quick Facts
QuickFacts provides statistics for all states and counties, and for cities and towns with a population of 5,000 or more.
Archive of the California Government Domain, CA.gov
Archived since April 2015. This archive preserves access to hundreds of California state agency sites. State agencies utilize their websites to publish everything from press releases, agendas, minutes, events, reports and statistics. This material is especially volatile as leadership changes or as time sensitive issues are no longer on agendas or in the news.
California Government Library Guide from UC Irvine
A comprehensive guide of California government links created by Brian Williams at UC Irvine Library
Glossary - CA State Assembly
A comprehensive glossary of terms.
California Legislative Information
This site has been updated to include legislative publications starting with the 2017 session and forward. A "Daily Updates" report feature has been added. The report displays, by house, measures for which there was activity the previous day such as new analyses, hearings, placement on the Daily File, amendments, History actions, or votes.
California State Legislature Bill Information 1999 to Present
The full text of bills, resolutions, and constitutional amendments, and their status, history, votes, analyses, and veto messages are available. If you know the bill, select the session, and House of origin, and type the bill number to retrieve this information. To search, select the session, and House of origin, and type the keywords and/or author name(s).
Government Info - California and State Resources
Provides links for CA laws and regulations, legislative histories & materials, and other state information. Local information is limited to the Central Coast area. From UC Santa Cruz.
A Guide for Accessing California Legislative Information on the Internet
This provides an historical perspective on how government information was once displayed online. Prepared by the Legislative Counsel of the State of California. Information regarding matters pending before the Legislature has been available to the citizens of California in printed form since 1849 but is now mostly available online. The guide also provides the following appendices: Overview of the Legislative Process, Glossary of Legislative Terms, and Glossary of Internet Terms. As of November 2016, the guide is no longer being updated.
Minerva Online Catalog
The California State Archives preserves the historic records of the state government and some local governments. A very good place to find the full history of a bill in order to determine legislative intent.
Local Government Resources
Mendocino College librarians are happy to assist with any questions you might have.
Library Reference Desk
Get answers to your questions at a time that works for you - in person or via Zoom.
Ukiah Campus: 707.468.3053 | Coast Center: 707.961.2200 | Lake Center: 707.263.4944 | North County Center: 707.459.6224
Email: Library Webmaster | Mendocino Community College
Powered by Springshare. Login to LibApps