LibGuides: OER (Open Educational Resources): OER Repositories & Reviews

Free OER Repositories, Search Engines & Courses

Academic Earth
Collection of online courses and video lectures from 25 universities including MIT, Harvard, Yale, Stanford, Berkeley and Princeton.
AMSER (Applied Math & Science Education Repository)
A portal of educational resources and services built specifically for use by those in Community and Technical Colleges but free for anyone to use
Boundless - Lumen Learning Courses
This catalog contains educational content originally curated by Boundless. In collaboration with the Boundless team, Lumen Learning imported these OER courses to the Lumen Platform, to ensure they remain freely available to the education community after Boundless ceased operations. Except where otherwise noted, all material in Boundless courses are licensed under a CC BY-SA license.
BC Campus Open Ed
Search and browse functions are available in addition to tools to create your own OpenEd resources. Guides to self-publishing, accessibility, and adaptation are provided, including a toolkit for Trades instructors.
CCC OER Commons
"A place for the CCC community to create, collaborate and share OER content."
Canvas Commons
"You can use Commons to search for and import content into your Canvas courses. You can also share resources to Commons from your Canvas courses."
Chemeketa Press
From Chemeketa Press's website: "The Press focused on publishing more affordable textbooks, but Chemeketa faculty then took the opportunity of textbook development to revise curriculum, create new opportunities for students, and pursue their own professional development."
Coerll - Center for Open Educational Resources & Language Learning
The Center for Open Educational Resources & Language Learning (COERLL) is one of 16 National Foreign Language Resource Centers (LRC's) funded by the U.S. Department of Education. The overall mission of these federally-funded centers is to improve the teaching and learning of foreign languages by producing resources (materials and best practices) that can be profitably employed in a variety of settings.
Cool4Ed - C-ID/Course Materials
The California Open Education Resources Council facilitates the peer review of open textbooks which are showcased in the California Open Source Digital Library (COOL4Ed). Choose a discipline, course, and then look for the "accessibility reviews" column.
CTE Online Curriculum
Lesson plans and curriculum for CTE and K-12 courses. Does require a free log-in to access full resources. Butte County Office of Education and California Dept. of Education. Content on this site has a CC BY NC SA license.
LibreTexts
Multi-institutional repository via California State Univ. and MERLOT for OER web-based collections -- texts, exercises, and more -- for Chemistry, Biology, Geosciences, Mathematics, Statistics, Physics, Social Sciences, Engineering, Medicine, Business, Photosciences, and Humanities.
more...less...
Most content is under a CC BY NC SA 3.0 license
Lumen Learning Open Courses
High-quality open courses in different subject areas and degree programs.
MERLOT II
MERLOT is a curated collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services contributed and used by an international education community. MERLOT does not house content, but is a collection of links to other content. One of the biggest OER repositories, but a bit unwieldy and difficult to search. Use limiting options on the left side of results page.
Milne Open Textbooks
"Milne Open Textbooks began as the project Open SUNY Textbooks: an open access textbook publishing initiative established by State University of New York libraries and supported by SUNY Innovative Instruction Technology Grants. This pilot initiative published high-quality, cost-effective course resources by engaging faculty as authors and peer-reviewers, and libraries as publishing service and infrastructure."
OER Commons
OER Commons is a dynamic digital library and network. Explore open education resources and join our network of educators dedicated to curriculum improvement. With a single point of access from which they can search, browse, and evaluate resources, including textbooks, lessons, videos, and more, in OER Commons’ growing collection.
OER Consortium
The Open Education Consortium in collaboration with MERLOT offers a search engine on OER. General search yields results from the integrated database of the Open Education Consortium and MERLOT.
Open Learning Initiative (OLI) courses
Content is CC BY NC SA licensed. Most courses have an open + free version (click "Enter course" to access)
OpenOregon
"Browse or search the table below to find out what other Oregon community college and university instructors are using to reduce textbook costs in their courses. If you see a name and email address, feel free to contact that person about their class."
OpenStax
View and share free educational material in small modules that can be organized as courses, books, reports or other academic assignments.
Open Washington - Find OER
Designed to help educators understand the OER movement and find OER. The site include links to finding content, images and videos as well as testimonials from faculty who have adopted OER.
The Orange Grove
Florida's open educational resource repository. Includes open collections for higher education as well as K-12.
SkillsCommons
The US Department of Labor’s Trade Adjustment Assistance Community College and Career Training (TAACCCT) program has created a free and open online library called SkillsCommons containing free and open learning materials and program support materials for job-driven workforce development. The Open Educational Resources (OER) are produced by community colleges across the nation and can be found, reused, revised, retained, redistributed and remixed by individuals, institutions, and industry.
SUNY OER Courses
Online OER courses created by State University of New York (SUNY) in the subjects of Arts, Business, English/Communication, Mathematics, Natural Science, Social Science, Technology, and Transitional Studies.
UCI Open Courses
Open collections and courses from University of California, Irvine. "UCI Open is an open education project supporting the needs of learners and educators everywhere: on our campus, within California, throughout the United States, and the entire world."
University of Hawaii OER
Collections of OER across the curriculum, including Arts and Humanities, Business, Food Science and Nutrition, Education, Languages and Literature, Medicine/Health, Natural Sciences, and Social Sciences.

OER Google Groups

CCCOER Advisory Google Group

SPARC Libraries & OER Forum Google Group

Evaluating Open Textbooks - Examples

Evaluating Open Textbooks
LibGuide from Penn College: a list of considerations for those adopting or creating open textbooks

OER Reviews

Go to the Open Textbook library by clicking on the link below.
Click the subject you're interested in on the left menu.
Scroll through the titles listed there. Some have reviews and some do not. Reviews are extremely thorough.
Reviewers list their name, title, and institution.

Open Textbook Library

Go to the BC Campus: Find Open Texbooks reviews by clicking on the first link below.
Click on the subject you're interested in on the right to get a list of titles.
Select a title and scroll down to see a review, if available. Note that not all textbooks have reviews.
OR, click on the second link below to see a list of ALL of the reviewed Open Textbooks, which are listed alphabetically by title.

BC Campus Open Ed
BC Campus Open Ed - List of Reviewed Textbooks
BC Campus Open Ed List of Accessible Textbooks
List of accessible OER textbooks on the BC Campus Open Ed repository site, which meet the requirements of the BC Campus Accessibility Checklist.

Choose a discipline (example: Communication Studies)
Then choose a course (example: COMM 110 - Public Speaking)
If there resources, they will populate below the course.
If there reviews -- "Accessibility Evaluations" and "Quality Evaluations" -- then they will be linked in the "Faculty Generated Resources" column

Cool4Ed - Course Faculty Showcase
The California Open Education Resources Council facilitates the peer review of open textbooks which are showcased in the California Open Source Digital Library (COOL4Ed). Choose a discipline, course, and then look for the "accessibility reviews" column.

Public domain repositories

Project Gutenberg
Find the full text of classics and public domain works from the first massive ebook creating organization in existence. Nothing fancy here, just files with the full text.
Library of Congress National Screening Room
This online collection spans more than 100 years of cinema history, from 1890-1999. Most, but not all, of the featured films are in the public domain, and available to download as well as watch.
1000+ Free Movies Online - Open Culture
Links to over 1000 free movies online, many of which are in the public domain. Includes classic, indies, noir, westerns, etc. Organized by genre and title.
800+ free ebooks - Open Culture
Download 800 free and openly licensed/freely available eBooks to your Kindle, iPad/iPhone, computer, smart phone or ereader. Collection includes great works of fiction, non-fiction and poetry.

OER (Open Educational Resources): OER Repositories & Reviews

Searching for OER

OASIS OER Search Tool

Mason OER Metafinder

Merlot SmartSearch

Free OER Repositories, Search Engines & Courses

OER Google Groups

CCCOER Advisory Google Group

SPARC Libraries & OER Forum Google Group

Evaluating Open Textbooks - Examples

OER Reviews

Public domain repositories