LibGuides: OneSearch: Home

Questions?

Mendocino College librarians are happy to assist with any questions you might have.

Library Reference Desk
librarian@mendocino.edu
707-468-3245

Book a Librarian

Get answers to your questions at a time that works for you - in person or via Zoom.

Librarian

Alison Finch

She/Her

Email Me

Contact:

Mendocino College
1000 Hensley Creek Rd.
Ukiah, CA 95482

For Faculty

Check the links to the Library in your handouts and Canvas.

Our homepage link stays the same: https://www.mendocino.edu/library
Link to the A to Z list of databases is now: http://libguides.mendocino.edu/az.php
To link to a particular database, hover your mouse over the name such as "Academic Search Complete" > Right-click > Copy Link Address > Paste it where you need it. This link takes you directly to Academic Search Complete

https://mendocino.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,url&profile=ehost&defaultdb=a9h

The direct link to the Library's catalog changes to: https://tinyurl.com/mclibOneSearch

We're still working diligently on finding and fixing all of the glitches in the transfer from the Koha catalog to OneSearch. Please be patient and let us know when/where you see errors.

Try It!

OneSearch allows you to find books, articles, videos, images, periodicals and more in a single search.

The OneSearch platform (also known as Primo) is being used at nearly all of the California Community Colleges, all of the California State Universities, and most UCs.

If you have any questions or issues with OneSearch please let us know!

OneSearch - Advanced Search

OneSearch Guided Tutorial

What does OneSearch include?

Use OneSearch to find print and online books, articles, and other types of sources. Limit your results to the types of sources you want by choosing the appropriate items from the following filtering options. (Click the magnifying glass icon to the right of the search box to see the filtering options).

Articles, Books and More

Searches physical items in the Mendocino College libraries, electronic resources provided by the library, and open access digital resources

Course Reserves

Searches course textbooks on reserve.
Type in your course name, number, or instructor's name to see if we have the textbooks available for in-library study
We are currently updating and correcting our course reserve data. Please be patient.

Lending Library

Searches for titles in the Lending Library collections, special sets of titles for students in particular programs. Please ask our staff to learn more about these books.

Books and Videos on Library Shelves

Searches for physical items in the Ukiah and Fort Bragg college libraries as well as materials at the Centers.

Articles and E-books

Searches Mendocino Colleges databases.
Some databases provide more information in the records to make them easier to find. If you're not finding what you're looking for, consider searching the library's databases individually to conduct a more comprehensive search.
Please remember that you must log in with your student ID & password to access some databases through OneSearch.

Searching in OneSearch

If there are no results matching your search...

Make sure that all words are spelled correctly.
Try a different search option (e-books instead of books in the library collection, for example)
Try different keywords.
Try more general keywords.
Try fewer keywords

If there are too few results matching your search...

Use wildcards to expand your search:
- Asterisk (*) will match zero or more characters within a word or at the end of a word
  - educa*will find education, educating, educator
  - psycholog* will find psychology, psychological
- Question mark (?) will match any one character.
  - gr?y will find gray or grey
  - m?n will find man and men
To search for a phrase, type quotation marks around the phrase. You can combine both words and phrases in your search.
For more help with basic searches, click here to access the ExLibris knowledge center

If you get thousands of results...

Use more specific keywords: "Mendocino County history" rather than "Mendocino County"
Slide the "personalize" button above the first result of your search to limit your search to your preferred disciplines (history, psychology, sociology, for example).
Refine Your Results in the left column
- "Sort By" lets you select listing your results by relevance, date (oldest or newest), title and author
- Choose "subject" to further refine your search
- "Availability" can limit your search to a resource type such as peer-reviewed journals
- "Creation Date" lets you limit your search to a creation-date range (2014-2019), for example.

Saving your searches...

What can I do with my account?

Renew materials that are not already overdue. Note that there many exceptions to this,

so please email libraryhelp@mendocino.edu if you would like to renew an item.

Request materials from another Mendocino College Library (Please email libraryhelp@mendocino.edu if you need to make a request)

Interlibrary loan is not yet available through OneSearch.