Native American Heritage Month

From Google Arts and Culture

From the National Parks Service

"The Denver Art Museum was one of the first art museums in the nation to collect Indigenous arts from North America. As early as 1925, the DAM recognized and valued the fine aesthetic qualities of Native arts, when many other institutions only valued them as anthropological material. ..."

"Series of three photo essays created by Native photojournalists Donovan Quintero, Tailyr Irvine, and Russel Albert Daniels in collaboration with the Smithsonian’s National Museum of the American Indian. These photographers share the same desires: to break down stereotypes of Native peoples and to portray the diversity and complexity of their contemporary lives."
From the National Museum of the American Indian

Celebrating Native American Women; Native American Code Talkers; Adrift, But Not Without Hope; Invoking Earth Mother; The Art of Cradleboards

From 2019, a collection of World War I records will be exhibited to highlight one of the unique ways that Native American soldiers used their language and cultural heritage to serve the country.

List of activists from 2021 "Good News" site.

Learn about the history of US government Indian boarding schools in the 19th and 20th centuries.

Open textbooks featuring "Indigenous voices, stories, and perspectives. Here you'll find examinations of historical and contemporary issues, reading guides for celebrated novels, a series about Indigenizing post-secondary institutions and professional practice, and more."

Mission: "Indigenous Women Rising is committed to honoring Native & Indigenous People’s inherent right to equitable and culturally safe health options through accessible health education, resources and advocacy."

Features exhibits now on display as well as upcoming events.

"The National Archives holds hundreds of thousands of U.S. Government records relating to Native Americans, from as early as 1774 through the mid-1990s. These include every treaty signed with Native Americans, records from the Indian Schools, Indian Census Rolls, and Bureau of Indian Affairs records."

Exhibit about sports in America including stories and artifacts related to sports at Indian boarding schools, and a special display about legendary athlete Jim Thorpe featuring the Olympic gold medals restored to his family in 1982 and a handwritten letter Thorpe sent in 1935.

"The National Congress of American Indians, founded in 1944, is the oldest, largest and most representative American Indian and Alaska Native organization serving the broad interests of tribal governments and communities." Conventions, news, initiatives, and more can be found here.

Collections, exhibits, and much more can be found here.

Portal to information Native Americans from the National Gallery of Art, the National Park Service, Smithsonian, the National Endowment for the Humanities, and More

"The Library of Congress Prints & Photographs Division preserves and makes available thousands of pictures related to the history and culture of Indigenous North Americans. The vast majority of these images are photographs. Other material includes drawings, engravings, lithographs, posters, and architectural drawings. Most of these images have documentary importance. Some reflect the artistic development of graphic art and photography."

From the Independent Lens blog.

View territories and languages of indigenous peoples in California.

Mission Statement: "The Northern California Indian Development Council works to meet the needs of American Indian communities by researching, developing and administering social and economic development programs. NCIDC will provide support and technical assistance for the development of such programs in addition to working to conserve and preserve historic and archeological sites and resources."

"The US poet laureate Joy Harjo writes, 'The literature of the aboriginal people of North America defines America. It is not exotic. The concerns are particular, yet often universal.'”

Established in 1976, the Native American Heritage Commission (NAHC) was established "as the primary government agency responsible for identifying and cataloging Native American cultural resources."

"The Indigenous Digital Archive’s Treaties Explorer, DigiTreaties.org, was created by the Museum of Indian Arts and Culture, Santa Fe, New Mexico, in partnership with the US National Archives Office of Innovation and National Archives Foundation. Thanks to a generous anonymous donor, the US National Archives conserved and digitized the 374 Ratified Indian Treaties in its holdings."

"... In January 2023, the California Ocean Protection Council (OPC) approved the disbursement of $1 million to establish a Tribal Small Grants Program to provide dedicated funding to California Native American tribes and tribally led entities in support of work that advances tribes’ priorities for conservation, management, and stewardship, as well as the goals in OPC’s Strategic Plan and Tribal Engagement Strategy. The OPC Tribal Small Grants program will be part of the Tribal Nature-Based Solutions program to assist California Native American tribes in advancing multi-benefit nature-based solutions in the coast and ocean." From the website

"It is our mission to share the Native Culture of California's with the world through photos, videos and events held throughout California Indian Country." - From the website

"The Why We Serve exhibition honors the generations of American Indian, Alaska Native, and Native Hawaiian members of the United States Armed Forces, and commemorates the National Native American Veterans Memorial, dedicated at the National Museum of the American Indian in Washington, D.C."