You can use the main citation components to create a citation for anything, even if no examples cover your source. View other citation examples and read through the citation components page to see guidelines and formatting tips.
Author. Title of Source OR "Title of Source." Title of Container, Contributors, Version, Number, Publisher, Date, Location.
Artist. Title of Artwork. Composition Date, Museum, City. Medium (optional).
Artist. Title of Artwork. Composition Date, Website, URL. Medium (optional).
Degas, Hilaire-Germain-Edgar. Little Dancer, Aged Fourteen. Circa. 1922, Philadelphia Museum of Art, www.philamuseum.org/collection/object/82565. Bronze sculpture.
Eberhardt, Anton. Saint George. Circa. 1760, Artstor, library.artstor.org/#/asset/AMICO_CHICAGO_1031150789. Sculpture.
Mondrian, Piet. Composition with Blue and Yellow. 1932, Philadelphia Museum of Art, Philadelphia. Oil on canvas.
See pages 331-332 in the MLA Handbook and How do I cite a museum image that I viewed in person or online? [Ask the MLA]
Syllabus for Course Name. Taught by professor name, semester, Institution, City.
"Title of Materials." Course Name, taught by professor name. Canvas, Institution, URL.
Author of Item. "Title of Item." Course pack for Course Number: Course Name, compiled by professor name, semester, Institution.
Syllabus for College Composition 1. Taught by Jane Smith, fall 2021, Santa Fe College, Gainesville.
"Lesson 1 Slides." College Composition 1, taught by Jane Smith. Canvas, Santa Fe College, 12 Aug. 2021, courses.sfcollege.edu/courses/429230/modules/items/11614033.
Frost, Robert. "The Path Not Taken." Course pack for ENC1101: College Composition 1, compiled by Jane Smith, fall 2021, Santa Fe College.
See page 341 from the MLA Handbook. How do I cite a syllabus?
Performer. Type of Event. Date, Venue, City.
Author. Performance Name. Directed by Director, Company, Date, Venue, City.
Beatles. Concert. 15 Aug. 1965, Shea Stadium, New York.
Miranda, Lin-Manuel. Hamilton. Directed by Thomas Kail, 28 Jan. 2017, PrivateBank Theatre, Chicago.
See pages 334-335 in the MLA Handbook.
Author. Title of Bill. Date. Website, URL. Xth Congress, Xth session, passed Date.
United States, Congress. Public Law 89-236: An Act to Amend the Immigration and Nationality Act. Government Publishing Office, www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/STATUTE-79/pdf/STATUTE-79-Pg911.pdf. 89th Congress, passed 3 Oct. 1968.
Florida, Congress. Committee Substitute for Committee Substitute for House Bill No. 293 (Chapter 2017-55). 2017. State Library and Archives of Florida, laws.flrules.org/2017/55. Passed 2 June 2017.
(United States, Congress)
See page 345 in the MLA Handbook.
Interviewee. Interview. Conducted by Interviewer, Date.
Interviewee. Telephone interview with the author. Date.
Smith, John. Interview. Conducted by Mary Knotts, 12 Jan. 2015.
Jones, Elizabeth. Telephone interview with the author. 30 June 2021.
See page 336 in the MLA Handbook.
Author. Title. Date. School, Type. Website, URL.
Ulman, Taylor. Archetype and Brand Congruency in Advertising. 2009. U of Florida, Masters thesis, etd.fcla.edu/UF/UFE0041325/ulman_t.pdf.
See page 339 in the MLA Handbook.
Author. Title. Website, URL.
Dunlop, George. “Eliza, Computer Therapist.” Manifestation, www.manifestation.com/neurotoys/eliza.php3.
See MLA Handbook, 8th edition, How do I cite an artificial intelligence?
"Description of prompt given to AI tool." Name of AI Tool, version, Date generated, Publisher, URL.
"Describe the symbolism of the green light in the book The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald" prompt. ChatGPT, Feb. 13 version, 8 Mar. 2023, OpenAI, chat.openai.com/chat.
("Describe the symbolism")
See the MLA Style article, "How do I cite generative AI in MLA style?"
Ukiah Campus: 707.468.3053 | Coast Center: 707.961.2200 | Lake Center: 707.263.4944 | North County Center: 707.459.6224 Email: Library Webmaster | Mendocino Community College
Powered by Springshare. Login to LibApps