Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Nursing: Journal Articles

Guide to nursing resources in the library and beyond

Recommended Library Databases

The most relevant databases will most likely be these EBSCO databases

CINHAL Basic Searching Tutorial

CINHAL Advanced Searching Tutorial

Accessing Databases

Go to our Library Homepage

Click on the Library Databases (Articles and eBooks) 

Under "All Subjects" pull down the menu and choose "Health" or "Nursing"

Please Note:

Off-Campus Users: Enter your College Username and Password

On-Campus Users: You are taken directly to the list of databases

You will see that the "Best Bets" are

CINAHL Plus with Full Text

Medline

Health Source/Nursing Academic Edition

 

Database Limiters

Look on the left-hand side for ways to limit your search to Scholarly (Peer Reviewed Journals).

Database Limiters

Note: You can limit by date, too!

USING Subject Headings/MeSH in CINAHL

How to Read a Scholarly Article

***First: Read Jennifer Raff's "How to Read and Understand a Scientific Article" ***

Scholarly articles are often very long.  They can be 10, 20, maybe even 30 pages or more!  Check out this video for tips on how to skim a scholarly article.  This video is presented by the University of Tennesee Chatanooga Library's Online Workshop.

PICO Evidence-Based Search

To formulate the search for evidence-based research answer these questions:

P - Patient/Population/Problem: such as age group, gender, ethnic group, disease or condition

I -   Intervention/Issue: treatment, course of action, symptom

C - Comparison: alternative to compare with the intervention such another treatment, medication or test; not always necessary

O - Outcome: what you are measuring or hoping to accomplish

For example, the PICO for the question: Does having a CT scan as a child increase the risk of cancer?

P = children

I  = CT scan

C = no comparison

O =  cancer risk

Go to the Academic Search Complete database

Click on Advanced Search

Advanced Search in EBSCOHost

Sample Advanced Search

Advanced Search in Health Source: Nursing

Ukiah Campus: 707.468.3053 | Coast Center: 707.961.2200 | Lake Center: 707.263.4944 | North County Center: 707.459.6224
Email: Library Webmaster | Mendocino Community College

Powered by Springshare. Login to LibApps