Finding Articles, eBooks, Videos - SOC 230 - LGBTQ+ Studies

Useful Databases

Background Information
Good starting points for general overviews.

Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
Looking for background information? Instead of just using Google, try a search here. Encyclopedia Britannica provides journal articles, magazine articles, biographical portraits, primary sources, as well as news items from national and international newspapers.
College ID and Password Required
Britannica Escolar This link opens in a new window
Spanish language version of the Encyclopedia Britannica: vetted, quality research.
College ID and Password Required
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Original, in-depth reporting and analysis on current issues in the news covering topics ranging from the environment, the economy, health, social trends, technology, criminal justice, international affairs and more.
College ID and Password Required
SIRS Issues Researcher This link opens in a new window
SIRS provides relevant, credible information on social issues, science, history, government, and the arts and humanities. Good choice when looking for multiple perspectives on a current issue.
College ID and Password Required

General Resources
Try a search of
"lgbtq or lesbian or gay or homosexual or bisexual or transgender or homosexual or queer or sexual minority"
in any of these databases.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Mendocino College's most popular database. Full-text articles covering a wide range of topics.This is a great place to start!
College ID and Password Required
America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Research database covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
College ID and Password Required
eBook Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
Large selection of multidisciplinary e-books representing a broad range of academic subjects, including titles from leading university presses such as Oxford University Press, MIT Press, State University of New York Press, Cambridge University Press, University of California Press, McGill-Queen's University Press, Harvard University Press and many others.
College ID and Password Required
eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
The collection covers key subject areas including humanities, social sciences, business, science, technology and literary criticism.
College ID and Password Required
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
"This is a database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. With its archival material, dating back to 1970 in some cases, GenderWatch is a repository of important historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgender community and the changes in gender roles over the years. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books and NGO, government and special reports.

Subjects Covered: Arts, History, Literature & Language, Social Sciences, Health Sciences, News"
College ID and Password Required

Alexander Street Videos

Specialized Databases

ERIC This link opens in a new window
Education Resources Information Center is an authoritative database of indexed and full-text education literature and resources.
College ID and Password Required
Health Source – Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
Collection of consumer health information provides access to full-text consumer health magazines and reference books
College ID and Password Required
MasterFILE Complete This link opens in a new window
Database provides full-text magazines, reference books and primary source documents. It also includes an extensive image collection containing photos, maps and flags.
College ID and Password Required
Military and Government Collection This link opens in a new window
From EBSCO, this database features "full-text journals and periodicals pertaining to all branches of the military and government."
College ID and Password Required
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
This collection includes millions of articles from newspapers, newswires and news magazines. In addition, it offers television and radio transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources.
College ID and Password Required
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
An essential tool for psychologists, counselors, researchers and students, providing extensive coverage for a broad range of subjects in the fields of psychology, behavioral sciences and related disciplines.
College ID and Password Required

Database Tutorials

If you aren't finding information, try searching synonyms such as

LGBTQ+ OR lesbian OR gay OR homosexual OR bisexual OR transgender OR homosexual OR queer OR sexual minority

and then add your topic. For example:

In some databases, try putting words that should stay together to form a unique concept in quotes.
**NOTE** This doesn't work all the time and may actually limit the number of relevant hits.

"gender identity" AND art (Academic Search Complete)
"sexual minorities" AND culture or cultural or ethnicity or identity or values (Academic Search Complete)
"New Queer Cinema" (OneSearch)

What Are Library Databases?

Courtesy of Yavapai College Library

SOC 230 - LGBTQ+ Studies: Finding Articles, eBooks, Videos

Useful Databases

Database Tutorials

What Are Library Databases?