Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
LGBTQ+ History Is U.S. History
A 1969 police raid here led to the Stonewall riots, one of the most important events in the history of LGBT rights (and the history of the United States). This picture was taken on pride weekend in 2016, the day after President Obama announced the Stonewall National Monument, and less than two weeks after the Pulse nightclub shooting in Orlando.
Learn about LGBTQ History Month
"LGBT History Month celebrates the achievements of 31 lesbian, gay, bisexual or transgender Icons. Each day in October, a new LGBT Icon is featured with a video, bio, bibliography, downloadable images and other resources."
From LGBTQ History Month - Background
- ACT UP Oral History Project
"The ACT UP Oral History Project is a collection of interviews with surviving members of the AIDS Coalition to Unleash Power, New York."
- American Presidency Project
Includes more than 100,000 documents related to the study of the Presidency including public papers, proclamations, addresses, and executive orders.
- Bay Area Reporter
"The Bay Area Reporter is the oldest continuously published lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender weekly newspaper in the United States." Content continues to be added and eventually will be available back to 1971 when the newspaper was founded.
- Digital Transgender Archive
"The purpose of the Digital Transgender Archive (DTA) is to increase the accessibility of transgender history by providing an online hub for digitized historical materials, born-digital materials, and information on archival holdings throughout the world." It primarily focused on materials prior to 2000.
- Gay Marriage and Homosexuality-- Pew Research Center's Religion and Public Life Project
Begun in 2001, this project "conducts surveys, demographic studies and other social science research to examine a wide range of issues concerning religion and society in the United States...."
- GLBTQ: Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender, & Queer Encyclopedia
Online encyclopedia which provides good coverage of popular culture topics.
- LGBT Religious Archives Network
The LGBT Religious Archives Network (LGBT-RAN) encourages "scholarly study of lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) religious movements around the world."
"OutHistory tells stories about the queer past, about people who identify as lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender." It includes bibliographies, oral histories, documents, and timelines.
Servicemembers Legal Defense Network (SLDN) is "dedicated to bringing about full LGBT equality to America's military and ending all forms of discrimination and harassment of military personnel on the basis of sexual orientation and gender identity."
- People with a History: An Online Guide to Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Trans* History
"People with a History presents the history of lesbians, gay men, bisexuals and transgendered people [=LGBT]. It includes hundreds of original texts, discussions, and [soon] images, and addresses LGBT history in all periods, and in all regions of the world."
- Queer Music Heritage
This website, started as a radio show in 2000, aims to share and preserve the music and history of LBGTQ music.
- Voice of the Shuttle -- Gender and Sexuality Studies
Directory of web pages from the University of California, Santa Barbara that includes general resources, women's studies & feminist theory, queer studies, and men's studies.
- WSSLinks: Women and Gender Studies Web Sites
Women and Gender Studies websites developed and maintained by the Women's Studies Section of the Association of College & Research Libraries (ACRL).
Voices of Pride
Out in the Open
"Out in the Open will, once and for all, destroy the misconceptions, fears and myths about the LGBTQ community. This uplifting documentary is geared towards at-risk youth across the world, as well as their families, friends and teachers. ..."
“Silent Pioneers” is a ground-breaking film about LGBTQ seniors who lived before the Stonewall Riots in 1969, the turning point in gay history that started the lesbian and gay liberation movement.
Marsha P. Johnson - Transgender Activist
The story of Transgender Activist, Marsh P. Johnson, who dedicated her life to LGBTQ+ rights.
Who's On Top
“Who’s on Top?” (narrated by George Takei) is the emotional story of members of the LGBTQ community who challenge stereotypes about gender and sexuality and demonstrate their diverse journeys in overcoming physical and figurative mountains.
Ukiah Campus: 707.468.3053 | Coast Center: 707.961.2200 | Lake Center: 707.263.4944 | North County Center: 707.459.6224
Email: Library Webmaster | © 2021 Mendocino Community College
Powered by Springshare. Login to LibApps