Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Oscar Wilde, Author and Playwright, Imprisoned for "Indecency" in 1895
Film and Media
Provides feminist and queer perspectives on pop culture and media.
Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Studies Commons
"The Digital Commons Network provides free access to full-text scholarly articles and other research from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide. Curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, this dynamic research tool includes peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work." From the Digital Commons Network
An advocacy organization in partnership with the UCLA Film & Television Archive that works to preserve LGTBQ+ films. The annual Outfest Film Festival showcases queer cinema from around the world.
Critical Media Project
"Strengths of this resource are the inclusion of many media examples, from commercials to movies to TV series and news clips ..."
Critical Media - Identities in the Media
"These media examples address criminalization, medicalization of, and stigma against LGBTQ identities in an historical context, looking at Stonewall, AIDS crisis and activism.
Critical Media - Gender
Gives media examples that help address how individuals come to understand their gender from a young age through socially constructed ideas about what masculinity and femininity mean.
Rowan Ellis - YouTube
Her YouTube videos offer analysis and criticism of popular culture and media from a feminist/queer perspective.
The Queer Fantasies of the American Family Sitcom
Open access text that analyzes homophobia, the sexualization of girls, and gay stereotypes in past and current situation comedies.
One of the most comprehensive queer film festivals. Sponsors queer film screenings in the NYC area year-round.
Where We are on TV - GLAAD Media Institute
This 2019-2020 edition is "the 24th year GLAAD has tracked the presence of LGBTQ characters on broadcast and cable television, and the 15th Where We Are on TV report."
Frameline is a San Francisco-based organization established in 1977 to promote and showcase queer cinema.
Provides commentary on films, commentary on arts and culture.
A newspaper from the 1970's that not only advocated for gay rights but also covered stories that never would have been published in the mainstream media. Provides a brief overview of other gay publications of the time.
"Autostraddle has won numerous awards since its inception, notably the 2015 GLAAD Media Award, and it has been been nominated for many others, including the GLAAD Digital Journalism Award. Its Arts & Popular Culture: Film and TV sections provide reviews, news, and analysis of recent films and films in production, as well as for TV series." From LGBTQ+ Studies: An Open Textbook
Bay Area Reporter - Archive
Founded in 1971 and known as B.A.R. until 2011, it was distributed free to patrons of San Francisco bars. The Bay Area Reporter is particularly notable for its reporting on the AIDS/HIV crisis.
Independent Voices - An Open Access Collection of Alternative Presses
Searchable digital archive of LGBTQ+ alternative presses. Choose "Series" and then select, "LGBT
"The Queer Zine Archive Project (QZAP) was first launched in November 2003 in an effort to preserve queer zines and make them available to other queers, researchers, historians, punks, and anyone else who has an interest DIY publishing and underground queer communities." From the QZAP Zine Archive.
Archives and Primary Sources
Digital Transgender Archive
From the Digital Transgender Archive, "The purpose of the Digital Transgender Archive (DTA) is to increase the accessibility of transgender history by providing an online hub for digitized historical materials, born-digital materials, and information on archival holdings throughout the world."
Lesbian Herstory Archive: Herstories (LHA)
Its mission is to collect and preserve items relating to the lesbian experience. The first items collected ranged from love letters to personal papers that would have been otherwise destroyed.
LGBTQ+ Studies Web Archive
A special collection in the Library of Congress.
OutHistory brings together LBGTQ American History for all levels of researchers, and is a useful entry point into research in this field.
Queer Silicon Valley
Personal narratives, history, culture and community, HIV/AIDs, politics and activism, and more.
Transgender Archives - University of Victoria
From the Transgender Archives, "University of Victoria Libraries is home to the largest Transgender Archives in the world."
Oral Histories and Projects
Ukiah Campus: 707.468.3053 | Coast Center: 707.961.2200 | Lake Center: 707.263.4944 | North County Center: 707.459.6224
Email: Library Webmaster | © 2021 Mendocino Community College
Powered by Springshare. Login to LibApps