Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Google Scholar: Home

Tips on using Google Scholar to find full-text, scholarly articles both on the web and through Mendocino College Library

Search Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

Get Help From the Library

 Fall Library Hours

M, T, TH 9:00 - 6:00

Wednesday 9:00 - 8:00

Friday 9:00 - 4:00

Need assistance with your research?

 Ask Us

Call us: 707-468-3245
Email us: librarian@mendocino.edu

Questions about borrowing library textbooks, Chromebooks, or other materials?
Call us: 707-468-3158

Email us: libraryhelp@mendocino.edu

‚ÄčUkiah Campus
Library/Learning Center, 2nd Fl.
1000 Hensley Road
Ukiah, CA  95482

Google Scholar Instructions

Please keep in mind that Google is not transparent about the journals or time ranges it indexes, and publishers occasionally request that Google Scholar not index their publications. Non-scholarly and/or non-peer reviewed material may also appear in Google Scholar, so it is best to use it in conjunction with other search tools.

Like other Google search products, Google Scholar starts with a basic search blank. If you need the results of more specific searches - access the Advanced Search by clicking on the expansion menu on the left side of the page.

 

Enter your search terms in the fields and choose where you want your words to appear.

To search for exact phrases, put your search terms in quotes.


Sample Search Strategies

Linking Google Scholar to Mendocino College Library

Did you know that you can configure Google Scholar to offer links back to articles you can get through the Mendocino College Library? Changing a few simple settings is all that's needed.

First, go to Google Scholar. Click on the Expansion Menu in the upper left,

Google Scholar Expansion Menu

Click on the Settings link that appears in the side panel.

On the page that follows, click on Library links.

Enter Mendocino in the blank and click the search button. You'll then see the options for connecting to Mendocino College's Full Text databases. Check all boxes.

Google Scholar Library Links in Settings

Click Save.

Look for the ViewIt@MC option the next time you search. Clicking on ViewIt@MC will take you back to the Mendocino College Library's catalog where full-text will be available.

Google Scholar ViewIt@MC option

What if it's not in Full Text?

Sometimes the item you might want doesn't have a full text link. If this happens, there are other things you can try:

  1. Click on the All "N" versions link to see if other versions, such as preprints, might be available
  2. Contact a librarian for help getting access to the item. Email us at librarian@mendocino.edu.

Here's an example of the item being available through the All 9 versions link:

Google Scholar Options

 

And here's what we find on the next page:

Google Scholar Version Options View

In this case, you can find PDFs posted elsewhere. If you see a ViewIt@Mendocino link, it will take you to a page where you find full-text access options.

Creative Commons License 4.0

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License. Adapted from the University of Rhode Island, University Libraries.

Mendocino College Resources

A to Z List of Databases

OneSearch

 

Related Guides

Ukiah Campus: 707.468.3053 | Coast Center: 707.961.2200 | Lake Center: 707.263.4944 | North County Center: 707.459.6224
Email: Library Webmaster | Mendocino Community College

Powered by Springshare. Login to LibApps