OER (Open Educational Resources): Images, Audio & Video

Free images of students and teachers in schools across the U.S. Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International (CC BY-NC 4.0)

Free plus-size stock photos. Not licensed but asking for credit.

Resources for finding openly licensed images.

Free to use images. Art, Science, DEI and more.

"The current dominant images reinforce dangerous misconceptions, and at best limit the public understanding of the current use and workings of AI systems, their potential and implications. ... We need images that more realistically portray the technology and the people behind it and point towards its strengths, weaknesses, context and applications." From the About page

Inspiring discovery through free access to biodiversity knowledge.

The Biodiversity Heritage Library improves research methodology by collaboratively making biodiversity literature openly available to the world as part of a global biodiversity community. - From the website

Curationist a space for finding and collecting significant cultural and historical resources that are not limited by copyright. Curationist strives for inclusion, integrated value creation and innovation as an unfixed and intersectional hub of many cultures.

"Disabled And Here is a disability-led stock image and interview series celebrating disabled Black, Indigenous, people of color (BIPOC)." Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY 4.0)

Flickr hosts millions of Creative Commons-licensed images. Notably, Flickr provides a separate Creative Commons licensed videos collection. Search tip: After searching with a keyword, click the "Any license" filter to narrow down to images with different kinds of open licenses.

Nearly 400,000 free images that you can use for your projects with limited restrictions (can't sell the image, can't be used in logos or trademarks, etc). Be sure to check their license agreement at https://www.freeimages.com/license. Requires a free account to download images.

This is is a stock photo library featuring images of trans and non-binary models that go beyond the clichés. This collection aims to help media better represent members of these communities as people not necessarily defined by their gender identities—people with careers, relationships, talents, passions, and home lives

"The vision of the UK Human Development Institute is the full participation and contribution of all people with disabilities in all aspects of society. These photos can be downloaded and used to create and enhance visual and digital products, social media posts, and project websites."

"A free library of images celebrating women’s lives and their work in 11 countries around the world."

"MedPix® is a free open-access online database of medical images, teaching cases, and clinical topics, integrating images and textual metadata including over 12,000 patient case scenarios, 9,000 topics, and nearly 59,000 images. Our primary target audience includes physicians and nurses, allied health professionals, medical students, nursing students and others interested in medical knowledge."

Morguefile is a free photo archive. The site was created to serve as a free image exchange for creative professionals and teachers to use in their work. Search Tip: Search by keyword and then click on the license link for more specific info on how to use that image.

Currently, all images have been placed in the Public Domain. CC0 1.0 Universal (CC0 1.0)
Public Domain Dedication. They do request that you credit the creator of the image.

Icons and photos with various licensing options. Search Creative Commons, royalty-free, and public domain by keyword.

Hand-drawn illustrations. Free for commercial and personal use under CC0 License (Public Domain).

OpenPhoto.Net offers free stock photos.

This is not a search engine, but rather offers convenient access to search services provided by other independent sites. Includes several sites that provide images, audio, and video.

Free stock photos you can use everywhere. Free for commercial use, and no attribution required.

"We are a coop of stock image photography. We recognize that most other FREE stock image sites have very few or no images of people of color. We sought out to create a space where publishers, bloggers, website owners, marketers, designers, graphic artists, advertisers and the like can easily search and find diverse multi-racial images."

All images and videos on Pixabay are released under a Creative Commons Zero (CC0) license. Searchable by keyword or by type (video, illustration, photo, etc.).

Photos and images on this site have a Creative Commons Zero (CC0) license. Searchable by keyword or by categories.

A "reverse" image search engine. Just upload an image to find out where it came from.

Unsplash photos are licensed under the Creative Commons Zero (CC0) license. Searchable by keyword or by collections.

Wikimedia Commons is a media file repository that is completely dedicated to providing educational media that are released either in the public domain or under Creative Commons license. Search tip: To check the license information on any image, scroll down the page to the Licensing section.

Free photos of women and non-binary people of color in the tech industry. CC BY License.

TED Videos have a CC BY NC ND 4.0 license, and TED encourages users to freely view, share, and download the videos without restraint. The website is provided as a public service to promote the spread of good ideas.

Part of the Internet Archive collection. "Here we feature the best movies of the United States Government, from training films to history, from our national parks to the U.S. Fire Academy and the Postal Inspectors, all of these fine flix are available for reuse without any restrictions whatsoever."

From the Internet Archive: "This library contains digital movies uploaded by Archive users which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts."

TED-Ed is TED’s youth and education initiative. TED-Ed Originals are short, award-winning animated videos about ideas that spark the curiosity of learners everywhere.

Khan Academy provides top-quality educational videos that are organized by discipline and skill levels. They provide videos from various disciplines including Math, Science, Economics, Finance, and Humanities.

YouTube provides millions of Creative Commons-licensed videos (among their billions of video collections). The key is filtering them to isolate the Creative Commons-licensed ones.

Like YouTube, Vimeo hosts millions of Creative Commons-licensed videos. In addition, Vimeo provides a separate Creative Commons licensed video collection which makes the filtering process much easier.

This is not a search engine, but rather offers convenient access to search services provided by other independent sites. Includes several sites that provide images, audio, and video.

This online collection spans more than 100 years of cinema history, from 1890-1999. Most, but not all, of the featured films are in the public domain, and available to download as well as watch.

"he Library of Congress hosts public events featuring authors, world leaders, entertainers, scholars and sports legends. We have been recording Library events for decades and are making those recordings available in this collection."

Links to over 1000 free movies online, many of which are in the public domain. Includes classic, indies, noir, westerns, etc. Organized by genre and title.

Download hundreds of free and openly licensed audio books, mostly classics, to your MP3 player or computer. Includes fiction, poetry, and non-fiction.

"This library contains recordings ranging from alternative news programming, to Grateful Dead concerts, to Old Time Radio shows, to book and poetry readings, to original music uploaded by our users. Many of these audios and MP3s are available for free download."

Collection of music uploaded with Creative Commons licenses.

This is a community music remixing site featuring remixes and samples licensed under Creative Commons licenses.

This is not a search engine, but rather offers convenient access to search services provided by other independent sites. Includes several sites that provide images, audio, and video.

The Digital Media Bank Provides links to resources, including images, sound, and video, for the purpose of enriching online curriculum. From California State University - Chico.

The Free Music Archive is an interactive library of high-quality, legal audio downloads directed by WFMU, the most renowned freeform radio station in America. There is a FAQs page for Educators.

Listen to music, interviews, field recordings, and more from the Library's historic sound recording collections.

A Library of Congress collection of historical recordings made available to the public for free.

Features streaming music audio, concerts on demand, interviews, sessions, and more things music.

"... Audiobook productions of popular OpenStax textbooks are available on multiple streaming platforms." Available through Spotify, YouTube, and Apple Podcasts:
- Introduction to Sociology 3e
- US History
- World History, Volume 1 (to 1500)
- American Government 3e

Massive lists of public domain music and songs, as well as royalty free music. From the Public Domain Information Project site.